Skip to content

If the shoe fits?

November 18, 2012
My running shoes

Oooooh, new shoes

This week has been great, I found out I can run!  I’ve completed the first week of Couch25k.  I know it’s not a lot to run for 60s at a go, but for me never having fully got over Sciatica a few years back its a big step forward.

To ensure that I continue in the same positive vein I decided to invest in running shoes today and so not really knowing what to expect I visited the nice chaps at Running Bath.  Walking into the shop alone was pretty scary.  I open the door to find I’m the only customer in the place, something that would normally have me running for the hills.  Eeeeek, not intimidating at all in any way shape or form, no siree.  So I paste on a big smile say hello and beg for help, to which their response is to entice me into their basement.  This is for gait analysis, which seems to involve running barefoot the length of the shop to hit a 2 foot square pad.  You wouldn’t think that would be hard, I can tell you from the number of attempts involved it’s not as easy as it looks, multiple comments of ‘just one more go on that foot please’.

Following gait analysis I’m whisked back upstairs into public view to try out some trainers.  At this point I find out that I’m a wierdo! Not only do I have slightly fallen arches (they seem fine to me), but apparently I have some funky foot rotation going on.  It turns out that left to my own devices I turn my feet in and cross them when I run.  The nice chappies did tell me that I can do glute activation exercises to help combat the inward rotation, so I’ll try some and see what that does.  So, now for a small amount of public humiliation running up and down an arcade of shops with my jeans rolled up to test out the trainers, not my best look really.  I have to say I was surprised, my current trainers are very neutral and offer very little cushioning, all of the ones I tried felt like walking on air – albeit lumpy air with the support in the shoes.

Several pairs later I am now the proud owner of Brookes Adrenaline GTS 12 and they feel amazing.  Every stride has a real bounce now.  The nice chaps at Running Bath were great, even reminding me to roll down my jeans again before leaving the shop to save further humiliation :-).   My big question now is do I take them out for a spin tonight or wait for tomorrow? I can’t believe I’m looking forward to running

Update – I gave in to temptation and took them out for a spin tonight.  They are like foot gloves and have so much bounce.  The inbuilt support is going to take a bit of getting used to but I REALLY like these trainers.  Roll on Tuesday for the next run (Week 2 Run 1)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

