Skip to content

Treadmill trauma

November 26, 2012
A precor 957 treadmill

The source of my terror, the treadmill

After yesterdays frightfully British complaint about the weather (it’s a national genetic thing) I did indeed follow up on my promise to go do my last run of week 2 of Couch25k in the gym. I realise to most people this wont exactly sound challenging, but for me it is for several reasons;

  • I have a history of ‘not going to the gym’.  In fact I have a history of not going to 2 gyms, as I didn’t go to the last one or my current one.  I can count on the fingers of one hand the number of times I have been in the last 3 years!  This means that I have some considerable inertia to overcome to just walk through the door.  Even worse when you consider I can see the gym from my house #ashamed.
  • I am worried about pace and co-ordination.  What if I go to fast, or too slow, or fall over, or garrotte myself with the emergency stop chord.  I am not the most coordinated of people at the best of times, if there is a way to hurt myself or look silly doing something I will find it.
  • I am worried about ‘thudding’.  I am not the daintiest of ladies.  I know I have a funky running ‘style’, although not like Phoebe from Friends as one work colleague likes to imagine!  When I have been to the gym I’ve been surrounded by teeny tiny girlies or athletic blokes, none of whom were exactly heavy on their feet. As a novice I have this vision of ‘charge of the light brigade’ in my head.
  • My single biggest fear is that I HAVE NEVER ACTUALLY RUN ON A TREADMILL BEFORE!  You may ask how I’ve managed to avoid this.  Simple, every gym induction  I have looked wimpy enough that they never asked me to run.

So, despite worrying about all this there I was, striding womanfully into the gym.  Well, I would have if I could remember the security code – thank you nice lady on reception for helping me out there.  Right, I’ve made it into the gym, now to choose my poison.  I was so hyper I stupidly didn’t pick the ones with a TV to distract me, what was I thinking!  Then a panicky moment of ‘how do I start this thing?’ before the realisation dawned that the big green START button was what I needed.  OK, so brisk walking – hey this is really good.  Finally after 5 mins I have to face my demon head on, can I run on a treadmill? Yes, it turns out I can.  After a bit of wobbling I found a speed that wasn’t too fast or slow and it all seemed to come together.  Did I thud?  I have no idea, I was too busy being hypnotised by the swimmers in the pool below. I complete the session and slow down the treadmill to get off, its at this point things start to get tricky.  I step down and all of a sudden my balance is all over the place and I feel like the floor is moving.  I stagger out of the gym like a drunk, or a sort of female John Wayne (see earlier comment about co-ordination).  It seems I’ve added a whole new weirdness to my repertoire, as well as vertigo while Diving I now seem to get motion sickness from treadmills.

Despite this I feel like I have achieved a small psychological victory.  I’ll definitely do it again if the weather is bad, but I do prefer running outdoors because I like the breeze.  Bring on the next run,  it’s the start of week 3 and I’ll be doing 3 min runs.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2012 11:11 pm

    I’m doing the whole c25k program on the treadmill atm because my flat feet freak out when I try and run outdoors. I get the motion stuff too! I don’t think it goes away really I’ve been using a treadmill for a few years now, just lessens (: good luck with the rest of the program and good on you for getting to the gym!

    • November 27, 2012 7:19 pm

      Hi Preetikar, thanks for commenting and following. its good to know that the C25k works as well on a treadmill as outdoors. wishing you success in reaching your goals. Nev

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

