Skip to content

Operation – Go Slow

December 2, 2012
man and woman running

Absolutely nothing like the BF and me

Well, I said I’d get back to you on how the running went with t’other half and I shall.  The exercise has now been rechristened Operation Go Slow and I think we’ve both learned from the experience, in my case not to do it again until I can run faster.

It all started as a throw away comment to the BF that I was going to bring my sports kit round to his place at the weekend so I didn’t need to miss my next couch25k run.  My brain then ran away with my mouth and the words ‘you can come with me if you like’ passed my lips.  We’ve never worked out together (except in a horizontal fashion) so I was naturally a bit nervous about this, but thought it would be fun to have a go.

After mooching around Sunday morning killing Orcs in Lego Lord of the Rings I decide we had better bite the bullet and get out on the road before the weather turns.  After much kit and clothing furtling we are ready to leave and so with me in change of the podcast we set off.  We very quickly hit problem number one, as I’m finding it difficult to concentrate with have ‘Laura’ from couch25k in one ear and the BF in the other.  Eventually I give up trying to multitask (call myself a woman, not!?!), rather than telling him what she’s saying I just tell him when to walk/run.

The second problem comes when we actually get round to running.  Our heights are not that different, but its obvious his stride length is very different from mine.  I give up on trying to get in the running groove by matching strides, I’d quickly die of exhaustion.  On the plus side he’s still amused that he’s actually got me out of the house doing something fitness related.  By the second phase of running the third problem is becoming more obvious, I’m very very slow.  I get the impression he wants to run in circles round me like an excitable puppy, maybe next time an extendable leash is called for……….

On the plus side running with him did push me to go faster (albeit not much).  I had an unfortunate 30 seconds where my natural competitive streak prevailed and I tried to muster a bit of speed thinking I might race him.  Bloody hell that hurt and in reality I don’t think he even noticed I was trying #embarrassed.  Lesson learned, until I’m ready to take it up a gear I need to stick to my pace.  So, we did run further, its helped build my confidence even more, I got to run somewhere new and I’ve learned never to forget your sports bra.  I think if we’re going to do it again I might wait till a latter stage of the programme, or better still till I’ve graduated.  You wait Mr R, one day you will eat my dust, mwah ha ha 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

