Skip to content

Legs of jelly

December 4, 2012
runner lying on the floor

what I felt like doing instead of this run

Tonight I feel like someone has wrenched my legs off at the hip and stuck them on back to front.  There’s a good reason for this and its because I’ve started week 4 of couch25k.

I kind of feel like Laura (lady on the podcast) has been lying to me and lulling me into a false sense of security.  Last week, she smugly  told me that I would be able to finish the run if I pace myself and it would be worth me slogging it out.  In total I only ran for a total of 9 mins.  That seems like an eternity ago as this week she’s upped the anti and expects me to run for a total of 16 mins.  Now that’s a BIG jump, what happened to a stepping stone of 12 mins of running?  Laura has gone from being a ‘nice lady’ to an utter cow.

I should have known I was in for a hard time when the first running segment was 3 mins.  But having conquered 3 min runs last week I laughed at Laura suggesting I take it slowly and went for it.  I felt good in the 90 second recovery and pretty cheerful.  The smile was wiped right off my face when she said to run for 5 mins.  I can honestly say it felt like an eternity.  By the end of it my legs were all over the place and I needed the 2.5 mins walk to recover, if you can really call it that.  Trying to do the second 3 min run was hilarious  – for spectators.  By the time the last 5 min run came round I was like a trolley with a broken wheel and had no idea which direction my feet were facing.  I swear I was going so slowly there were little old ladies overtaking me!  All the while I would dearly love to get my hands on Laura and slowly choke her

Now I ‘may’ have over-reacted a little here.  Possibly. Tonight has definitely strained my friendship with Laura, as much as it is possible with an imaginary friend.  she better be a little less smug by the next run, or failing that a bit gentler with me next week #liveinhope.

I’m off to bed in the hope that the electric blanket will sooth aching muscles allowing me to walk tomorrow.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2012 10:47 pm

    Keep it up! The initial soreness eventually goes away, believe it or not. Before you know it you will be whipping out 3 miles and some without hardly breaking a sweat.

    • December 5, 2012 6:27 am

      Thanks Maiker, much appreciated :-). I was actually surprised I managed it so thats encouragement. couch25k is a really well structured programme, its just going to be a question of keeping the legs moving – and resisting the urge to throttle ‘Laura’ 🙂

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

