Skip to content

Less jelly, more swollen

December 5, 2012

Am a teensy bit worried (read paranoid).  For the last 3 days I’ve had a randomly swollen leg.  It doesn’t hurt, but it feels ‘funny’.

I only noticed it Monday because one of my knee high boots felt tight on my calf while the other was still loose.  I’ve found that its better first thing in the morning and gets steadily worse throughout the day. I’ve tried ice and elevation and anti-inflammatories and they seem to help, but not for long. Its not hard and I don’t have any ‘pitting’ and its not generally hot.  Safe to say that all is not quite as it should be.

As to how I’ve done this there are several options.  I went diving on Saturday and got bad cramps in my hamstring because of the cold water.  My hamstring has felt tight for over a week so this might be me overusing the muscle.  Alternatively the runs on Sunday and Tuesday were quite challenging for me and I may have overdone it when I should have rested more.  I was particularly naughty on Sundays run as unusually for me I forgot to stretch afterwards.

In trying to work out what the hell I’d done and how to deal with it I did a very silly thing and googled my symptoms, a surefire way to convince yourself you are  going to die horribly from something obscure.  I’m pretty sure I don’t have DCI, DVT, or heart and kidney conditions. The prime candidate appears to be edema, unless I’ve got an infection in which case all bets are off.  Got a docs appointment next week to see what they can do to help, if it hasn’t cleared up by itself.

I mustn’t be well as I’m experiencing very strange secondary symptoms.  Logically, I know I probably shouldn’t run until this gets sorted.  Emotionally, there is a loud voice in my head shouting ‘Nooooooo, don’t stop now, you’re doing so well’.  This is a new voice as previously I would have taken any opportunity to sit on the sofa doing bugger all.  So, how do I keep up the good work and not make my leg worse?  Maybe I shall get up early tomorrow to see if I can row without causing problems…………………………. 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tony permalink
    December 5, 2012 9:43 pm

    Apparently that is what healthy feels like, makes you appreciate the Olympics more, they must feel shit all the time!

    • December 5, 2012 9:51 pm

      Hi bro. In that case you must be really healthy! When you’ve recovered we should go for a run, providing you can go slow enough for me to keep up 🙂

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

