Skip to content

Kick it up a gear – week 5 couch25k

December 13, 2012

Tonight is the start of what is going to be a really challenging week on the couch25k.  I’ve reached the point where they start to increase the amount of time you are running without breaks.  The first run is (only) 3 lots of 5 min runs with 3 min walks in between, but it soon ramps up :-S.

I was a little nervous about the run, despite knowing that I have done 5 min intervals before.  So rather than dwell on the issue and put myself off I decided to get out on the road as soon as I could after getting home from work.  It worked because the first interval felt surprisingly easy, although it was strange to continue past the point where I would normally be slowing to a walk.

Phoebe from Friends running

I may have looked like Phoebe while running tonight

The second one passed in a blur, I can only assume I was in ‘the zone’ (or just drunk again), and I barely noticed the time passing.  The third interval was a different matter though, my legs decided that they would turn to mush and not co-operate with my brain.  I think I finally did my Phoebe (from Friends) impression!  Got in under control jut before then end to try a fast(ish) finish.   I would like to say that I lengthened my stride and leapt forward like a Gazelle, in reality it was a slightly quicker shuffle with very wobbly legs :-).

All in all it went really well.  Despite running for 1 less minute I nearly covered the same distance and I was able to do a fast(er) finish.  I’m really excited about the next run, but 8 mins is a bit daunting.  Just a shame its going to have to wait till Sunday as I have another Xmas party and the Santa dive at Vobster Quay coming up.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

