Skip to content

Sleigh the UK – Bring on the Wonder Stuff

December 20, 2012

It’s the time of year that Jon and I (no.1 gig buddy) make our annual pilgrimage to see the Wonder Stuff.  The Stuffies are my favourite band ever and I try to see them at least once on each tour.  In the last couple of years I have seen them as headliners and supporting the Levellers and they never fail to disappoint.  Last night was no exception.  Shepherds Bush Empire was packed to the rafters full of 30 and 40 something indie kids chomping at the bit to see the Stuffies supported by Jesus Jones and Pop Will Eat Itself (PWEI/Poppies).

Jesus Jones

Jesus Jones

Jesus Jones

Jesus Jones opened the night, but despite the crowd knowing their tunes and singing along it was a bit tame as there wasn’t much in the way of dancing.  The bass was cranked way up and I think it overpowered their songs a bit.  On the plus side I was able to do some early evening drooling as Mike Edwards is as yummy as ever, just with short hair now.   The best part of their performance by far was the keyboard player, who was pretty much stomping around shouting to himself.  By the end of the set I was wondering when the strait jacket would be bought out.  All credit to Mike trying to belt out the high notes on some of their songs with a throat infection.  Notable tracks included:

  • Real, Real, Real
  • Who, where, Why,
  • Zeroes and Ones
  • Info Freako
  • International Bright Young Thing

All in all a good start to the night.

PWEI

These guys are always a change of pace and really pull out all the stops, tonight was no exception.  The minute they came on stage the moshpit condensed and got bouncing – who wouldn’t to ‘Preaching to the Perverted’ (their best song imho).  The heavy bass really suited them and the Poppies basically romped for the next 45 mins or so.  Songs from the new album went down just as well as the old stuff and the audience never let up, and if anything the moshpit got more violent.  I was surprised when one of the singers went crowd-surfing halfway through a song, but he looked like he was having a great time.  Some of the tracks I can remember:

  • Preaching to the perverted
  • RSVP
  • Ich Bin Ein Auslander
  • Get the Girl, Kill the Baddies
  • Oldskool Cool
  • Dance of the Mad bastards
  • Def Con One

The Stuffies

Miles and Erica rockin the Empire

Miles and Erica rockin the Empire

After being nicely warmed up by the other two acts I was ready for Miles Hunt to grace me with his presence for the rest of the evening #sigh.  I may have even screamed like a girlie when he strutted onto the stage.  Nice to see that my teen crush hasn’t ebbed at all in the 22 years I’ve been a fan, aided and abetted by the fact that he has long hair again #notembarrasedreally.  They opened with a track off the new album, which might not have been the best choice as the audience didn’t really get into the swing.  However, once they launched into some older songs the bounce was well and truly restored.  Miles was his usual snarling self and kept the audience in the palm of his hand while we bounced, clapped, screamed and sung our way through the set.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen these guys play a bad gig and once again they maintained their high standard.  Despite my Rock roots I do love a good upbeat pop song to bounce along to and these guys have albums full of anthemic songs that you can really belt out at the top of your lungs.  Knockout tracks of the night for me included:

  • Mission Drive
  • Golden Green
  • Unbearable
  • Don’t Let me Down Gently
  • Size of a Cow

So, here I am with a sore neck, stiff knee, half a voice, tinnitus, sore back and shattered from lack of sleep.  Would I change it?  Hell no!  They all rocked and I’m just sorry I’m not going to one of the other nights on the Sleigh the UK tour.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2012 4:21 pm

    It was a great night!
    Roll on 21st (I think) December 2013 for the return of Sleigh the Uk 2013!

    🙂

    Jon. No1 gig buddy.

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

