Skip to content

If I’m going to the Physio, I might as well be broken

December 27, 2012
running joke

my kind of running

Tonight I am more chuffed than a chuffed thing. Thanks to the wonders of couch25k and the triumph of stubborness and stupidity over common sense I have completed my first ever 25 min run!

I’m staying at the BFs place over the holidays and don’t know the roads round here like I do at home.  Maybe its the lack of familiarity, but it feels like bloody hard work running here.  Plus, somehow every direction I run in is into a headwind, surely that cant be right? Having discovered this unusual phenomenon on my Christmas Day run (yes I am being smug) I was a bit dubious about todays run.  Laura telling me I was going to be running non-stop for 25 mins quite honestly filled me with dread.

In an effort to cheat slightly I elected to run the same course as last time, but in the opposite direction.  Cunning plan see?  It cant all be uphill and into the wind.  Oh, how wrong was I?!?  When I did the 20 min run Laura talked to me every 5 mins to tell me how well I was doing.  This time the cow didn’t talk to me between 5 and 12.5 mins into the run and only then to tell me I was half way. That woman is off next years Christmas card list. By the time the last 5 mins came round my legs were lucky to be pointing in the same direction.  Laura telling me I could speed up for the last 60 seconds if I wanted bought out a round of particularly inventive cursing and death threats.

Any traffic passing by as I started the warmdown walk must have had a field day.  I could barely walk in a straight line and my muscles had turned to jelly.  Thank god that stretching and a hot shower have improved the situation or I’d be going up and down stairs on my bum for the rest of the day. Even if it hadn’t I’d be OK as tomorrow is my physio appointment to address the whole ‘inflatable leg’ and numbness I described in previous posts.

The Physio Saga

I called up my local hospital on Monday (Christmas Eve) to make an appointment, thinking I’d get something in the new year.  The nice lady offered me a Wednesday appointment, saying ‘not many people have gone for that day’.  Yes, that’s because its Boxing Day you mad moo and people will be too full of food to move!  Who wants to be poked by a physio on Boxing Day? So, I plumped for tomorrow instead.  4 days for an appointment of any description has to be some sort of NHS record, I’m seriously impressed!  Anyway, I’m sure it will be fun as they now have a choice of 3 things to treat;

  1. my inflatable leg
  2. the pain around (but not in) my knee joint caused by cycling
  3. the ex-sciatica numbness which has spread from foot all the way up to my bum again
russian contortionist

Me, after the physio?

If I was a betting woman I’d lay money on the words ‘overuse injury’ featuring in the conversation somewhere.  I begged the Dr not to stop me exercising as its all been going so well (lost 3 stone and blood pressure now 118/76), although he muttered something about low impact.  Here’s hoping the physio is similarly encouraging, while actually helping to fix these problems.  At least being freshly exercised (or is that exorcised) they will get to see all of the above niggles at their best ‘so to speak’.

Wish me luck, having got to 25 mins I don’t want to slow down now! 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

