Skip to content

Service disruption

January 2, 2013

Apologies for not blogging for a while, but I got carried away with the season and doing family festive stuff.  A girl needs a little downtime every so often, but now I’m back and firing on all cylinders.

What’s been going on (excuse the rambling)

The physio man poked and prodded me last Friday and pronounced that I may have some nerve entrapment in my lower back.  It was all I could do to not be sarcastic as he pointed out to me that running might have caused some jiggling and compression of joints that might have resulted in the nerve being pinched a little.  As predicted the words over use injury also featured in the conversation, but that was less of an issue in his opinion.  So, I now have some exercise to do to stretch out tight calves and hamstrings and strengthen lower back and core muscles.

During Christmas I spent time with both mine and the BFs parents.  I cooked for his folks as apparently the pasta he did last year was a bit bland.  My Moroccan Lamb dish appeared to go down quite well, so I hope I’ve changed that perception a little.  We spent 2 days staying with my folks where as usual we were stuffed with goodies of all kinds.  Many games were also played (Monopoly, Cluedo and Trivial Pursuit) all of which I won, proving once and for all my genius status and superiority :-).

New year was a quiet affair with the BF and was celebrated infront of the TV with a glass of something fizzy.  I loved the fireworks in London this year, they just seem to get better and better.  One of these days I’m going to have to go and see them for real.

Mostly though I’ve spent Christmas playing Lego Lord of the Rings.  When I left the BF’s place yesterday we were around 80% complete.  That says that we have spent way too much time running round Middle Earth completing quests!  In fact I’ve hardly seen any Crimbo telly because of this, which actually isn’t a bad thing really.

Exercise has gone really well.  I was running on both Christmas and New Years day and am now into week 7 of couch to 5k, which is a week of 25 min runs.  It’s a shame that the weather has been so bad that I haven’t been able to get the bike out and really test the new tyres :-(. Since being back home I’ve also got back on the rowing machine and done some Body Jam.  In addition to kick starting my new year I’ve got Dad thinking more about exercise having dragged him and mum out for a walk while staying with them.  I just hope he keeps up the activity as he needs to do more exercise to improve his fitness and confidence.  It seems my bro is going to try a new approach to his running by having a go at the couch25k.  I wish him loads of luck and hope it succeeds and should help to set him up well for starting triathlon training in the future.

So, what next?

Well, I have had enough of a Christmas break to be bored.  I wasn’t going to go back to work until 7th Jan, but I’m thinking about heading back into the office tomorrow to catch up with folks there.  I’ll be running again tomorrow night, trying to beat my distance from yesterdays run.  Friday night is a dinner party at the BF’s (a very very rare occurrence – think pigs flying), and I may have one or two little drinkies.  Saturday the BF is taking me shopping for some running clothing for me as part of my crimbo pressie.  Sunday is a dive at Chepstowe, which is going to be bloody cold and wet. At some point soon I need to work on my Rocky Horror costume, but I’m sure I can make time for that over the next week.  Busy little Nev eh?  I suppose I’d better get an early night if I’m going to get started on this lot.

Normal service will now resume.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

