Skip to content

Journey of a thousand miles………..

January 8, 2013

……………… starts with a single step.  Possibly over dramatising my running efforts, but I’m pretty sure that this is going to be more than a 9 week hobby.  I know its been a while since I mentioned anything about progress, so I should probably update you.

I’m really chuffed by the fact that I managed to keep up with the Couch25k schedule over the Christmas period.  Under normal circumstances faced with the food orgy that is the festive season I would abandon any thought of exercise in a frenzy of gluttony.  That didn’t feel quite right this year and I was actually disappointed that the outdoor activities the BF and I planned had to be cancelled.  Despite this I was out running on both Christmas and New Years day, both of which were stunningly quiet and peaceful with very few people on the roads.  I’m grateful that the weather was good enough to get out and run as I don’t think I’ll have experiences like it until next Christmas.

Baby with caption - I can do it

Oh yes I can

Following on from the work over Christmas I started week 8 of Couch25k on Monday.  If someone had told me 8 weeks ago when I was struggling to run for 60s that I would soon be running relatively easily for 28 min (albeit slowly) I would have laughed at them. But, it’s the truth. Yesterday I extended one of my standard runs and cruised along happily at 11.2 min/mile for about 2.5 miles.  I’m a little way off the pace to do 5k in 30 min, but I’m encouraged by the fact that I’m getting faster and know that I can do the distance.

I already have a plan for what to do post couch25k, as barring accident or injury as I know I can run for 30 mins if I can do 28.  I want to do the 5k+ podcasts to help improve my pace and strength. Once I’ve managed to hit the  10 min/mile pace I’ll try a Parkrun.  I’ve also found a training programme through Runkeeper which is about running for weight-loss and that takes you up to running for an hour in 8 weeks.  I think if I complete that programme I should be able to do a 10k!  I still  can’t believe I’m even contemplating this considering 8 weeks ago I couldn’t comprehend running 5k!  Regardless of what I actually end up doing I can at least start it in the knowledge that I meet the min requirements for most training plans, so the world is my oyster.

Right now I feel like I could take on the world (providing it’s within a 3 mile radius).  Long may it continue :-).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2013 6:14 am

    Why wait until you can run a 5k in 10 min/miles before trying parkrun? They’re great fun whatever speed you run or walk/run at!

    • January 12, 2013 7:59 am

      good point well made :-). I doubt I’d wait that long in all honesty as im not known for patience. the key for me is being able to go the distance, Id like to run the whole thing and Im a little way off the distance yet. also finding a saturday Im at home as I normally go to the BF’s. I think Feb is my month for Parkrun 🙂

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

