Skip to content

Janathon Day 13 – the big one

January 13, 2013
runner crossing the finish line

how I feel, if not how I look

Well folks, this is it! Tonight is, as they say ‘the big one’ 🙂

After 9 weeks of slog in the couch 25k it was time for me to run (like a gazelle I may add) for 30 mins.  So, did I do it? Not wishing to keep you in suspense the answer is………….. YES!

I was a little anxious stepping out the door as the temperatures here have been plummeting (only around 0C, but its a big drop) and I’ve been a little stiff and achy since wrestling with the rowing machine trying to diagnose its ailments.  So, what better way to warm up than swinging my booty to a bit of Body Jam.  Having done a very passable Beyoncé impression (in my head anyway) I bravely launched myself into the week 9 podcast.

I kept the pace slow, which in hindsight was a slight error but hey I wanted to be sure I would finish the run.  Overall, I found it easier than expected as Laura was talking to me every 5 mins, which was a lot more than the other podcasts.  I had expected only a couple of notifications, say for every 10 mins, but she was way more chatty.  Yes, to me Laura is a real person and not just a lady in a podcast – unfortunately, she always seems to finish the run slightly faster than me.  Grrrrr.

Anyway, back to the run.  I did my usual route the ‘normal’ way round and despite running for 2 mins longer than last week I didn’t really get that much further.  In total I only covered 2.26 miles or 3.5k.  I think there is a lot more time and speed to build up before I’ll hit the full 5k, but I know its well within reach with a 30 min run under my belt.

So, I’m well chuffed with myself having met one of my New Years resolutions and after doing the 5k+ podcasts will have completed another.  Now all I need to do is work out what I’m doing tomorrow for Janathon.  I may draw inspiration from Running Dan W and start Planking and see how I can build that up over the rest of Janathon.

On a slightly less smug and more apologetic note about running, it appears I may have broken my little brother.  In my frenzy of enthusiasm for couch25k I have succeeded in encouraging quite a few people to give it a try (little ole instigator me).  One of these hapless souls is my bro.  It appears that he’s got to the middle of week 2 and his knees have gone on strike.  I did wonder why he’d stopped adding activities to Runkeeper……….  Sorry for breaking you bro, hope the knees recover soon.

Love Sis

totals for Janathon:

  • running – 15.19 miles
  • rowing – 2.36 miles
  • cycling – 4.3 miles
  • exercise class – 90 mins
One Comment leave one →
  1. January 20, 2013 8:44 pm

    Thanks for the name check!

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

