Skip to content

Janathon Day 18 – Rocky Horror Show

January 19, 2013
me dressed as Magenta

Hello sir, can I get you anything?

Sorry for a bit of a late entry, but I figure better late than never for Janathon.

Last night was the ‘highlight’ of my Janathon, going to see the 40th Anniversary show of Rocky Horror at the Bristol Hippodrome with the BF and 2 friends from the dive club

Now I’m not a girlie girl, by any stretch of the imagination. My idea of heavy makeup is normally eyeliner. Well last nights’ Magenta look involved full cover foundation, seriously heavy duty lipstick and eyeshadow as well as false eyelashes. Top it off with a maids outfit and 4 inch heels est voila, you get the look in the pics. The BF had a slight disaster as his wig didn’t turn up, but I thought we made a rather passable Riffraff and Magenta :-).

I was dubious about us getting to the show as it had been snowing all day, but the roads into Bristol were clear as a bell. The pavements were less so and were pretty much one big skating rink. Having thought about this in advance and being frightfully sensible I’d elected to go in walking boots and change in the theatre – walking boots + maids outfit = funny looks from passersby.

The best bit for me with and Rocky Horror show is always walking towards the theatre. One minute everything is ‘normal’ and then you turn a corner and its Basque’s, fishnets and flesh as far as the eye can see. Now considering the temp was below 0C there were some very brave people as not only were they not wearing a lot of costume, they also weren’t wearing coats! Brrrrrrrrr. As always there were some wonderful sights (and some less so……). Why is it that men have nicer legs in heels than women?

The show itself was great. For me, its always been about Frankenfurter and the guy playing him is spot on and was just the right mix of menace, sauce and camp. Boy are his legs flexible, but I’ll leave that to your imagination :-). Franks entrance with ‘sweet transvestite’ always blows me away and this was no exception, he had the audience in the palm of his hand the second he walked on stage! The narrator Philip Franks was also brilliant, he handled all the heckling really well with some hilarious comebacks about 50 shades of grey and gave enough space for people to really go to town with the adlibs.

No Rocky Horror is complete without the timewarp. You can’t not do that dance, but from our seats in the gods it was damn hard not to fall over when doing the ‘jump to the left’ in very high heels :-). What’s better than one timewarp? Two timewarps! Oh yeah, the encore had the audience going even more bonkers as it threw in bits of the other songs too.

Then sadly, it was time to go home :-(. But never fear we will timewarp again (any excuse to dress up)

totals for Janathon:

  • running – 16.67 miles
  • rowing – 2.36 miles
  • cycling – 4.3 miles
  • exercise class – 90 mins
  • walking – 1 mile
  • timewarp – 2
2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2013 2:32 am

    You’re right – men DO have nicer legs in heels than women. Quite unfair.
    Glad you enjoyed the show, and you look awesome as Magenta! 🙂

    • January 20, 2013 10:48 am

      Thanks Rubysneakers. I probably wouldnt have done it before losing the weight (3 stone). Its quite a confidence boost to feel comfy dressed up like that.

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

