Skip to content

Janathon Day 22/23/24 – Ooops, fell off the blogging wagon

January 24, 2013

*looks sheepish*.  Hello again fellow WordPress bloggers.  I would like to say that I have an excuse for not blogging for a couple of days, but that’s not the case.  I’ve just been lazy, but I’m back on track now and ready to take on the back straight of Janathon. So, a catch-up is probably overdue.

On the 22nd I went for a walk, only a mile but better than nothing.  Considering it had started to snow again I think that’s pretty good going.

On the 23rd I started phase one of a spring clean.  The house has been getting very messy of late and I need to tidy up to even be able to start my annual spring clean.  The other upside of this is that it gets me towards meeting a new years resolution to get a cleaner – the logic being I can’t get a cleaner in if the house is too messy.  So I spent the night doing yet more Freddie Mercury styleee housework, also with a very bad soundtrack and yet more dancing.  Who knows this may inspire me to tackle the spare bedroom.  It was worth the effort as with everything in its place the house feels bigger and more welcoming.

Tonight was a different and involved actual proper exercise!  For the first time in days there has been sunshine here and snow the snow is starting to clear.  I’ve been pretty grumpy at not being able to get out and do the second 30 min run of week 9 couch25k.  So, with the improving  snow situation I thought I’d get out there and see if my performance had suffered with some time off.  Running on tarmac, snow and ice is certainly an interesting experience.  At times I was doing barely more than a shuffle, just to make sure I stayed upright.  Despite the very slow pace somehow I managed to run 2.3 miles which is further than my first attempt at the 30 min.  I’m looking forward to improving on this massively with the next run 🙂

Today has been a good day for another reason too.  I weighed in at 13st 6lb this morning so am still continuing the very slow downward trend in weight.  Hopefully my target of 8 more pounds by the start of May is still achievable – fingers crossed.  I will look fabulous for my photoshoot 🙂

Janathon totals:

  • running – 18.97 miles
  • rowing – 2.36 miles
  • cycling – 4.3 miles
  • exercise class – 90 mins
  • walking – 3 mile
  • timewarp – 2
  • Karaoke housework – 2
8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2013 7:16 pm

    Welcome back to Janathon, no penalties for a Wobble just personal guilt ! Like training plans if you’re not an elite and hit 80% then you’ll be fine.

    • January 26, 2013 10:45 am

      haha. elite is a loooooong way off :-).
      hope your marathon training is back on track now the weather is improving

      • January 27, 2013 4:06 pm

        Back on track today with a 12 mile road training run, longest run since last October

      • January 27, 2013 5:12 pm

        Well done, good to get back on course. Fingers crossed for no more snow causing training disruptions

      • January 27, 2013 5:33 pm

        Totally agree 🙂 have 12 weeks to marathon with only one week I’m hoping for snow when I go skiing in Italy in Feb !
        How’s your running going ?

      • January 27, 2013 5:45 pm

        Ran yesterday for 30 min and the legs are suffering now. Think I need to incorporate more stretching before and after (old injury causing gip). I’m going to do a few more 30 min runs and then I’ve found a programme to go up to an hour. No specific targets, more a general improvement all round.

  2. January 27, 2013 3:04 pm

    I fell off the Janathon wagon too. So I’m amending my plan and will try to do something every day for the few days that are remaining. Just probably not running. Good luck for the rest of the month!

    • January 27, 2013 5:14 pm

      Its amazing how creatively you can interpret ‘exercise’ isn’t it :-). I can only run every other day, I think more would invite injury as I’m still a novice. There is always the dan_w_running approach ie daily planking

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

