Skip to content

Janathon Day 25/26 – Burns night and Les Mis

January 26, 2013

Well Janathon day 25 mostly consisted of stretching as I was very achy after my ice/snow run on 24th.  Work colleagues are now used to the random groans as I stand and sit down so barely raised an eyebrow as both volume and frequency increased.

However, the main highlight of the day for me was going out with members of the dive club for a Burns night meal.  The White Hart in Littleton on Severn had put on a suitably Scottish menu even if the night itself wasn’t exactly Burns-ish (ie no salute to the puddin’).  I’m not ashamed to say I utterly pigged out and had Scotch Broth followed by Haggis tatties and neeps.  That was enough to floor me, but I managed to keep some room for the bread and butter pudding.  As usual with the dive club the company was excellent, the jokes were awful and all of the stories involved huge fish :-).  A great time was had by all and there is a possible plan in the offing for a joint valentines dinner in a few weeks.

Day 26 saw me badly in need of recovery from the Haggis.  I swear the stuff inflates once you eat it!  Having eaten way too much I decided that a run would help me feel better and duly went out for a trot round the estate where the BF lives.  My legs were still v achy, so I found the run pretty hard going, mostly due to the fact that I was running in daylight.  Weird, but I’ve discovered I like running in the dark and cold, running in bright light just feels wrong somehow.  Can see I’m going to have fun adapting to the summer when/if it gets here.

A beautiful performance. Ann Hathaway as Fantine was amazing

So, as a reward for my little outing the BF and I hit the cinema to see Les Miserables.  I’ve seen the show and love musicals and I have to say I think the film has done a very good job.  Russell Crow isn’t as bad a singer as people say, infact there were times he was less wobbly than Hugh Jackman.  Cinema is a very different medium to theatre and I thought this bought a lot of life and colour to what has always been a great story.  Needless to say, I cried.  A lot.  All you could hear at various points was sniffing from all around the cinema. Despite the copious blubbing I loved it and would definitely recommend this film, for Ann Hathaways performance alone.  After 3 hours sitting in the cinema my legs seized and I had to stagger out, with the BF laughing at me- most unsupportive of him.

No idea what to do about tomorrow yet, but here are the totals

Janathon totals:

  • running – 21.23 miles
  • rowing – 2.36 miles
  • cycling – 4.3 miles
  • exercise class – 90 mins
  • walking – 3 mile
  • timewarp – 2
  • Karaoke housework – 2
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

