Skip to content

Janathon Day 29 – the great shoe debate

January 29, 2013
ladies running in high heels

Having been so successful in neutral shoes, maybe my next move is to enter a 5k in heels?

I’m on a roll after yesterdays rather windswept run.  Got home, got changed, ran straight back out the door again.

For some time now I’ve been wondering if I really need the cushioned stability trainers I bought back in week 2 of c25k.  They have been doing a grand job, I’ve not got any injuries, but there is a niggling voice asking what all the spring-loaded bits really do.  Before my Brooks shoes I had been wearing (note, not actually running) Nike free trainers, which are about as neutral and uncushioned as you get.

So, tonight I decided to test the difference and did a 30 min run in the old shoes.  Did I notice the difference?  In all honesty, not that much.  If anything, because the shoes are so flexible my ankles felt looser and I was less tight across the front of my shins.  I may have struck the ground with a bit more impact with reduced cushioning, but if that is the case I’m not feeling any worse the wear for it (although I am prepared to reserve judgement for a few days and see if it stays that way)

Anyway, back to the run.  I was delighted to find that I could maintain the pace I set yesterday over 18 mins for the full 30 mins.  I realise to some a 12.28 min mile is nothing to shout about, but to me it’s a triumph. Tonight I covered a mere 2.37 miles, but that’s still an increase overall and it all adds to my Janathon total.

Janathon totals:

  • running – 25 miles
  • rowing – 2.36 miles
  • cycling – 4.3 miles
  • exercise class – 90 mins
  • walking – 3 mile
  • timewarp – 2
  • Karaoke housework – 2
9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2013 9:46 pm

    I love the variety of exercises. Including rowing and, LOL, “Karaoke housework”! AWESOME accomplishments. Keep up the GREAT work!!! 😀

    • January 29, 2013 9:56 pm

      Looking at your accomplishments on the Hal Higdon and the weight training I’m equally impressed. Being a bit of a wimp I elected to go ‘fun and frequent’ early in Janathon otherwise I wouldn’t make it 🙂
      I would do requests during Karaoke housework, but I suspect the only one from the neighbours would be to shut up. I do a mean Queen, Billy Joel and Metallica though 🙂

  2. January 30, 2013 3:45 pm

    Wear the shoes you are comfortable in. Twice i have been in Sweatshop and tried on every shoe in my size, about 8 models and twice come out with the same make & model – Nike that I went in to replace.
    Never had a bruise, blister or black toenail form the Nikes so will probably stick with them for a good long while in my running.

    • January 30, 2013 10:02 pm

      sound advice. I’m actually comfortable in both. i think.it will start to tell when/if I do longer distances. For now its nice to have more than one option, lady can never have too many pairs of shoes 🙂

  3. lmfbs permalink
    February 18, 2013 8:02 pm

    I’m in a pretty similar boat with shoes at the moment. I’m wearing NB stability shoes, and have very even wear on them. I don’t know if that’s because I never needed them, or because they’re doing their job.

    I’m in the market for new shoes and I’m thinking of NB 1260v2 or Brooks Ariels (the NB are the new version of my current shoes, the Ariels are the Brooks equilivant). I do wonder though if I really need them. Maybe I’d be fine with just cushioning shoes rather than stability shoes?

    • February 19, 2013 6:46 pm

      The problem is the cost, both to your wallet and your legs/feet if you get it wrong.
      As a result I’m exercising caution, but am tending towards the stability shoe now that my distance is increasing.
      Funny how quickly paranoia sets in for a newbie isn’t it 🙂

      • lmfbs permalink
        February 19, 2013 8:15 pm

        That’s my concern too. But if I don’t need stability shoes, will they be uncomfortable? My gut feel is stability shoes when you don’t need them is ok, but non-stability shoes when you need stability is a bad idea. But then, I don’t really know anything other than my current shoes are comfy but cost a bomb.

      • February 19, 2013 8:33 pm

        definitely. I’m enjoying this too much to mess it up with the wrong shoes and injuring myself.
        Guess we’ll just have to carry on as we are 🙂

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

