Skip to content

Janathon Day 31 – Save the best for last

January 31, 2013
wonam crossing finishing line

God, I wish I had her abs.

Having graduated from couch25k I’ve been wondering what to do next.  Well, I think I found it.  Tonight I started the bridge to 10k programme (b210k).

Like c25k its a programme that builds slowly over several weeks, in this case 6.  What I like is the fact that its time rather than distance focussed, so in reality I’m aiming to be able to run non-stop for an hour.  So its back to the run/walk routines I’ve got so used to with C25k.

Tonight is the first run of week 1 (duh) and is 4 x 10min runs with 1 min walking recoveries.  I must admit that I wasn’t looking forward to the walking bit as I find it a nightmare getting started again.  Yes, that was definitely the case with the first walk, but restarting after the 2nd and 3rd walks was actually much easier.  I really surprised myself as I found the last 10 min section quite comfortable, easy even and I felt like I could go on and on using this method :-).

So, the upshot is that I finally did a 5k! At least now I know exactly how slow my pace is.  I suspect that if I could run the whole thing I would actually be doing a 5k in around 41 mins, showing just how much I need to improve my pace :-). That aside this is the longest and furthest I have ever run.  Come the Zombie Apocalypse I suspect I might be able to outrun them long enough to survive!

Well, its been a pleasure to participate in my first Janathon and I’ve been introduced to some great characters along the way.  I’ll be back for Junathon, I hope you will too :-). In the meantime I’ll keep following your exploits.  So for the last time before normal blogging service resumes:

Janathon totals:

  • running – 28.1 miles
  • rowing – 2.36 miles
  • cycling – 4.3 miles
  • exercise class – 90 mins
  • walking – 4.5 mile
  • timewarp – 2
  • Karaoke housework – 2
13 Comments leave one →
  1. John permalink
    January 31, 2013 8:42 pm

    Nice one, I loosely followed the bridge to 10k after completing c25k last year. You’ll be running a half marathon next!

    • January 31, 2013 8:59 pm

      now thats scary. probably not while Im still in full possession of my marbles 🙂
      But, you never know. i may see you on the startline someday (and then watch you speed off into the distance 😉 )

      • John permalink
        January 31, 2013 9:00 pm

        You might see me, not so sure about the speeding bit though!

      • January 31, 2013 9:18 pm

        🙂

  2. January 31, 2013 9:30 pm

    Well done!! The 10k app sounds interesting – it’s great that you’ve moved straight into it, and you have progressed so well in such a short time frame! Good luck with the half marathon. 😉

    • January 31, 2013 9:38 pm

      this is the link to the podcast http://couchto5k.healthunlocked.com/blogs/165476/B210K-Podcasts
      music OK, a bit Pink and Britney Spears obsessed, but there was a surprise appearance from one of my fave bands – Disturbed covering Land of Confusion.
      Don’t encourage John with the 1/2M idea 🙂 Or maybe I should just throw back the challenge and ask when you’re doing one………….? 🙂

      • January 31, 2013 9:46 pm

        Damn – didn’t think that comment through, did I? Who knows though, maybe we’ll both be considering it in a few months…(big maybe on my part haha).

        Thanks for the link. 🙂

      • January 31, 2013 9:48 pm

        mwah ha ha ha.
        ….. and the seed is planted.

  3. todkehrli permalink
    January 31, 2013 9:48 pm

    Congrats on a well done Janathon. 18 months ago I told myself I’ve never run a marathon after running my first half. I now find myself with 3 planned this year. Once you start rolling, you just never stop!

    • January 31, 2013 9:54 pm

      Congrats to you too and a belated Happy Birthday :-).
      Think I’ll reserve any judgement on the ‘M’ word (half or otherwise) until I’ve done a 5k race. Right now, anything with double digits distance is too scary to contemplate.
      But, I do know what you mean about being addictive. I’m already saying to myself ‘ what if I just do a bit further…..?’
      I think that way madness lies 🙂

  4. February 1, 2013 10:00 am

    Well done on your Janathon and good luck with your 10k programme. Two years ago, that was my aim, and then my Janathon friends lured me into trying my first half and first marathon… 😉

    • February 1, 2013 5:58 pm

      darn those sneaky Janathoners :-). We’ll just to to see how things go by Juneathon.
      You look like you’ve been having a good Janathon, hope your training is on course after the snow.

  5. February 2, 2013 6:07 pm

    Good luck with the 10k plan. I too find stopping & starting hard, better doing a slow jog than walk.

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

