Skip to content

Bridge to 10k – week 2

February 11, 2013

Having survived the three runs of week 1 I moved on to week 2 of B210k today, that’s 45 min running in 3×15 min intervals.

I have to say that in some ways I found it easier to do this week than last as I was spending longer running in ‘the zone’.  I find that stopping disrupts me from a nice comfy ‘I could do this forever’ feeling that seems to take me around 10 min or so to achieve.

I took it pretty easy for my first effort at running for this long and wanted to make sure I didn’t get put off by the extra 5 min.  As a result my splits were pretty slow, even by my usual slow standards.  But at least now I have a benchmark for next time and I’ll be really disappointed if I’m not doing 5k in under 40 min. So roll on Wednesday.

In other news I may be forced by shame into doing a 10k later this year.  I have discovered that the Frome 1/2M and 10k pass within a 200m of my house and the start/finish is less than 1/2 mile away across playing fields.  How did I not know about this in the 8 years I have lived here?!?  I’ll see how the rest of B210k goes and then look at entering.

My running is developing in other ways too, a friend at work has invited me to join her running at lunchtime next week.  Eeeek.  Other than the ‘experiment’ with the BF in week 3 of C25k I have never actually run with anyone.  This would be a triple whammy as it would also involve running in daylight and being seen in sports gear and running by my colleagues.  Considering one colleague is convinced I run like Phoebe in friends I’m not sure I want any of them seeing me strut my stuff.  Think I’ll have to take a very large brave pill that day.

me, by the end of Fab Ab Feb. #hopeinhell

Lastly, today was day 2 of Fab Ab Feb.  Got in from the run and cracked straight into the press-ups.  Maybe its just my imagination but they seem slightly more bearable when done wearing trainers rather than barefoot.  I’m proud to say I’m doing proper press-ups, no girlie stuff here.  The sit-ups and the plank both went well and I’m jut pleasantly achy now.  My reward, dinner and watching the new series of Spartacus: War of the Damned starting tonight on Sky One.  A girl can never get enough of pecs and loincloths 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2013 10:33 pm

    YOU WATCHED THE NEW SPARTACUS!!!!!!! (Yes, it needed shouty!) I am beyond jealous. But, nevertheless, well done on Day 2 and B210k! You’ll be fine in sports gear, with colleagues, and daylight. Just avoid irate taxi drivers and labradors would be my advice. I am off to sulk now. Stupid sky not working on the xbox at the moment. Urgh.

    • February 11, 2013 10:35 pm

      Would it be rubbing it in to say its on now………. 😉
      Gannicus #sigh

  2. February 12, 2013 3:39 am

    Cheers! I did that Zumba Sentao class…very fun! I came home, ate dinner and did 40 crunches, 10 (kind of) push-ups and a 15 second plank. I feel accomplished. My first 3 minute run is this week sometime. Nervous but confident.

    • February 12, 2013 7:02 am

      when you said modify, i hadnt realised you meant multiply :-). well done on the 10 pressups, i can barely move after 5!
      Enjoy the 3 min run, its a major achievement.

      • February 12, 2013 12:28 pm

        Hahaha. I decided to start on day 11. And the press-ups were way modified! That’s why I could do 10. I used to have to do them on the wall. I still do to get the full benefit. Have a great day!

  3. icaniwill permalink
    February 13, 2013 11:42 pm

    I can thoroughly recommend lunchtime running. It gets you away from your desk, out in the fresh air AND you can put your feet up in the evening safe in the knowledge that the run is in the bag.
    I’m 99% solo runner, but it’s good to have someone to compare notes with or to cajole you into going for a run when you might find a good excuse not to.

    • February 14, 2013 8:21 pm

      Well after being mocked by my colleagues (in a caring and supportive fashion) you guys will be the next to hear how it went :-).
      Fingers crossed for reasonable weather

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

