Skip to content

Valentines technology failure

February 14, 2013

Well, here I am alone on Valentines day.  Aaaaaaah I hear you say.

Don’t worry, the BF and I are seeing each other tomorrow for  the weekend. Unfortunately, our diaries just didn’t match up today with one thing and another.  So, do I sit home with a glass of wine and watch chick flicks?  No, I went out for a run :-).  Actually I’m not sure which is sadder, but hey I know which one makes me feel best.

Tonight was run 2 week 2 of B210k, another 45 min run with 2 mins walking.  I’ve discovered that I run more easily and faster when the lady on the Caledos runner app timechecks me every 5 mins.  For some unknown reason this little voice doesn’t always kick in and I have to wait the full 15 min for Sammy on the B210k podcast to pipe up.  It’s much harder to judge pace over the longer time and I either go too fast and tire myself too quickly or too slow and not push myself enough.

Mostly I love technology. Today, I feel like this though

This run ended up being half with and half without the 5 min timechecks.  It all went wrong somewhere around 20 mins when the music was accidentally paused, but the app carried on.  Faffing while running I managed to get the music back, doing an extra min running, but lost the 5 min alerts.  Maybe that’s why the 2nd half of the run felt sooooo much harder.

Anyway, thinking all was well I carried on and ended up running 3.83 miles (just under 6k) in 48 min.  I went to stop the app at the end of the run and it promptly lost all the activity data.  Nooooooooo!!!!!!  So, there went any info I had on splits and which bits of the course I had improved on.  I’m gutted and have learned a valuable lesson to not put too much faith in technology.  On the plus side, there definitely was an improvement so its not all bad :-).

After getting home I did my fab abs and managed 7 very wobbly press-ups, 20s plank and 25 sit-ups. I would like to say that press-ups are getting easier, but I am kidding myself.  I’m just glad there’s no one in the house to hear the grunting and swearing that accompany them.

This drama all pales into significance against the fact that today I booked a holiday! #punchesair #girlywhoop.  The BF and I are finally going to the Red Sea in March and its only taken me 8 years and 300 dives to get there.  I’ve been just about anywhere else in the world diving but the ultimate diving Mecca and now we’re going to spend a week onboard Blue Melody visiting wrecks and reefs.  So, in 5 weeks I will be sunning myself and baring my pasty parts to the harsh Egyptian sun.  Bring it on! 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2013 3:55 am

    Glad to hear from you. Your blogs are always entertaining. I did not do push-ups today but did plank. No crunches either but I did do oblique work. Whew! I’m tired.

    • February 15, 2013 6:42 am

      #blush Thanks that means a lot.
      If Janathon was anything to go by these monthly challenges are honored more in spirit than in fact. ive already got my days confused, but hey. At least we’re both doing something to push ourselves.
      keep it up- we’re fab 🙂

  2. February 16, 2013 6:48 am

    You’re on a roll – go you (and 7 wobbly press-ups is nothing to sneeze at)! Have a fab belated Valentines with BF. 🙂

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

