Skip to content

What was I worrying about?

February 18, 2013

Running is better with a Buddy. Artists impression of Lucy and I #extremecreativelicence 🙂

Today I return home triumphant from having faced the challenge of running at work.  “That’s nothing” I hear you say.  I beg to differ.  This involves the fear triple whammy of;

  • Running with another person (and still being able to talk)
  • Work colleagues seeing me in sports kit
  • Running in daylight (Yes, I am a vampire, just call me mistress of the night!)

All I can say is a heartfelt thanks to Lucy my new running buddy, who has been an oasis of calm and support and made the whole thing heaps of fun.

Having ventured out of the changing rooms into the bustle of our workplace we made a rapid exit to the great outdoors and into a beautifully sunny and brisk spring day and straight into a gentle run.  The first couple of minutes was spent tentatively working out whether we were going at the right speed for each other.  Tick – early success, it appears we run at about the same pace so no problems there.

Running while talking.  I realise that as a woman I should be able to do any activity while talking :-), but I must confess this taxed me a little.  It took me a little while to get used to the novelty as up until now I’ve just had Laura (the lady from C25k podcast) telling me what to do.  Once over the initial shock I found it was really lovely to have someone to gossip and banter with, although I must apologise to Lucy for my atrocious potty mouth bought on by exertion #blushes. Tick – yes once I work out what my feet are doing I can run and talk, no need to hand my ovaries in just yet.

Running in daylight was a little weirder.  I’m really not used to being able to see too far and I found that having a longer view to the horizon really tires me out.  Well, maybe that and a combination of running on grass tracks for the first time rather than pavement.  On the plus side, we didn’t really see many people while out so there was no need for my usual cunning baseball cap disguise as there was no-one to recognise me (and point and laugh).  Even better no-one overtook us while we out, so by definition our pace must have been AMAZING (no-one to disprove the theory :-)). Tick – survived to tell the tale with no embarrassing encounters, but there’s always next time………….

After 4k of road, trail, headwinds and a rather sneakily concealed big dip I was too tired to care about colleagues seeing me in sports kit.  So in the absence of evidence or criticism to the contrary I’m going to assume I looked fabulous and not a bit red-faced and sweaty……………. Tick – confidence restored, although there may be a wibble later in the year as the temp increases and layers have to come off

All in all we had a great time (even despite the potty mouth) and thanks to Lucy I’ve added another dimension to my running.  We’ve already booked to do more runs when calendars permit.  What a great way to catch up with a friend I don’t usually see that often.  I’m already looking forward to the next one.

After this I definitely deserve the yummy smelling Moroccan Lamb that’s bubbling away on the cooker.  Just wish it didn’t take so long to cook, I’m starving!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2013 9:41 pm

    Confession time. Fab Ab February has flatlined. Hoping to resurrect it today. =) Cheers on the buddy run!

    • February 19, 2013 6:36 am

      to quote Rubysneakers i think your horse just got spooked. chase him down and get back on. 🙂
      Ive got the big 10 tonight #chewsfingernails. Its proving really tough with this cold, so not sure I’ll manage them all. Hoping for a miraculuous recovery.

      • February 19, 2013 11:42 am

        It’s a common occurrence, the old spooked horse. Good luck getting back into it, hiddenbeloved. 🙂

  2. February 19, 2013 11:32 am

    Huge smile reading this (and check out all of those ticks!!). Just goes to show ‘the fear’ can be squished, and that you can have a great time in the process of doing so. Enjoy your next run with Lucy – hope you guys get to do it again soon. 🙂

    • February 19, 2013 6:43 pm

      Thankyou :-). To quote Lord Percy Percy ‘I laugh in the face of danger, and tweak the nose of the dreadful spindly killer fish’.
      Lucy and I are running again in 2 weeks, diary clash has stopped next week, but fear not we shall be putting our best feet forward in the near future. We have to, I’m now determined to conquer the ‘big dip’ on the route we just did.

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

