Skip to content

Blowing my own trumpet

February 25, 2013

If I’m going to blow a trumpet I want one of these!!!!!

Tonight I am gutted as I’m still not well enough to exercise without ending up doubling over wheezing.  But there is a feel good factor at the end of the tunnel.

Its the time of year we start to pull together evidence for our performance appraisals at work – think school report on steroids.  What it does is forces you to look very hard at what you’ve done/achieved throughout the year and the impact that it had.

Compared to last year this one has felt a bit faffy, but starting to write down what I’ve been up to has made me realise that despite all my worry and flapping about being out of my depth (completely new technical areas) I have actually done some good stuff.

Now all I need to do is put it in corporate gobbledegook (a personal speciality) and I’m ready for my ‘chat’ with my boss tomorrow.  What is normally a chore has actually made me feel quite good………. I must still be ill.

God I need to do some exercise!!!!!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2013 10:26 pm

    Go you! I dread my appraisal time. It gives me sleepless nights in the run up to it – how pathetic. Wishing you some snot free times to get out there again and carry on with your plan!

    • February 25, 2013 10:45 pm

      I actually enjoy it, plus I think its her turn to get the coffee and cake in :-). I’m really lucky as my line manager and I get on really well, mostly because I’m very low maintenance for her. Got the hang of writing a good objective and evidence years ago, so now its making sure I get stretching tasks to do. Although, the words ‘development opportunity’ mean I’m about to be given something horrific to deliver.
      looking forward to being snot free, but would settle for not being randomly dizzy though 😦

      • February 25, 2013 10:50 pm

        That is good – I have an ok relationship with my manager (we’re a bit too similar and can but heads occasionally – I’m not winning any awards for “employee of the year”!). I may introduce cake to my appraisal – that could make it more enjoyable! Sounds like your cold has gone to your sinuses – have you done the head of a steaming bowl of water (maybe with Vicks) in? Or a bloody good curry?

  2. February 27, 2013 7:48 am

    I’m late reading this so you’ve probably had it by now, but I hope you were suitably recognised for your “outstanding ability to transcribe and interpret corporate gobbledegook”, and that the chat went well. 🙂

  3. February 28, 2013 8:53 pm

    As always the chat went well (very good cake). Some quality gobbledegook written, even by my usual standards 🙂

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

