Skip to content

Kate Bush and a PB

March 4, 2013

maybe a slight exaggeration, but it did feel like this

I can climb mountains me! Well maybe small hills ๐Ÿ™‚

Today I thought I’d get back into the swing of b210k and complete week 2 (3×15 min runs) by trying out a new route.ย  I’ve mostly stayed pretty close to home when running, sticking to ‘my side’ of the town and the fringes of my estate.ย  Up until now its been fine for giving me a pretty level-ish 5k.

There have been a couple of good reasons for this;

  • I can get home easily if something goes wrong
  • I know the roads
  • I actually get anxious the further from home I get – but don’t really know why

Anywho,ย the main reason is that the centre of town is basically a giant valley :-(.ย  By staying on one side of town I have avoided the thorny issue of hills (only done gentle inclines before).ย  Looking at the course for the Frome 10k I can see I’m going to need to conquer the centre of town and another hill in one race if I’m to stay the distance.

So, I decided to pop my hill cherry.ย  Now these may not be that big in the scheme of things, but I can assure you by the top of the two hill sections I did I was definitely breathing out my bottom again.ย  Much more and I would have been sick.ย  But I’ve discovered that if I just keep plodding I can get up them.ย  I may sound like a badly maintained steam train, but as Kate Bush would say I was ‘running up that hill’.ย  Even better I actually overtook someone else while doing it!

Got home dog tired, but deeply chuffed.ย  This was in no small part due to the fact that even while running hills I managed a PB of 38.50 for 5k and covered a total of 5.75k. Thank god today is a rest from Mad Abs March.

Busy couple of days coming up as I’m doing a short lunchtime run with Lucy tomorrow and then starting my friend Joe on couch25kย on Wednesday, so next b210k session will be Friday I think.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2013 11:47 pm

    Reblogged this on SykOse and commented:
    @SykOse. Live. Extreme.

  2. March 5, 2013 2:30 am

    Good on ya!!! I’m starting week 5 of Couch25K tomorrow. If only I could do it all on a treadmill.

    • March 5, 2013 6:29 am

      week 5 is where it starts to get interesting. its hard work, but so worth it.
      personally I prefer outdoors, i get really bored on a treadmill. i need a changing view – or maybe Im just being nosey

    • March 6, 2013 10:53 pm

      Am I correct in thinking you’ve had snow (or is that another blogger?). If so, treadmill is a damn good idea ๐Ÿ™‚
      Good luck with week 5, you’ll love the challenge

      • March 7, 2013 3:37 pm

        Hey there! Thanks for the encouragement. No, unfortunately, I live in the Low Country of South Carolina and we rarely see snow. I did my run outside today. Second one of Week 5. Two 8 min runs. AWESOME!!! Yea, so I am looking forward to the 20 min but I am not sure where I will be running that. Have a great day!

      • March 7, 2013 8:26 pm

        I really enjoyed the 2×8 mins it felt really good at the time.
        You will so love the 20 min and its a huge achievement from the starting point in week 1.
        Enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. leoponton permalink
    March 5, 2013 10:27 am

    Well done! I’m intrigued by this bottom breathing technique. Is it part of the B210K ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. March 5, 2013 1:29 pm

    *PB high 5* Well done on tackling the hill too! I’m getting a bit bored of my route, but I’m struggling to find a hill-free alternative for the remaining 3 weeks of C25K. Have a nice lunchtime run today!

    • March 5, 2013 7:09 pm

      If they aren’t mahoossive hills then give it a go. You could always try a new route and do week 1 as a test so you’re not running too long uphill.
      lunchtime run was cancelled to the relief of both me and Lucy. She had a last minute presentation to go to and my legs are barely functional. Im currently limping everywhere. Foam roller for me tonight I think.
      Hope your c25k is going ok after biscuitgate ๐Ÿ™‚

      • March 5, 2013 8:11 pm

        Does the foam roller actually work? I keep thinking about getting one, as I’m sure my IT band gets tight (but then I think I’m overreacting – I’m not a runner, so surely I can’t have a runner’s problem).
        I’m impressed with your hills though! Definitely good stuff. Is the Frome 10k very hilly? Afraid I don’t know that bit of Somerset too well.
        Damage wasn’t too bad after biscuitgate ๐Ÿ™‚

      • March 5, 2013 9:19 pm

        yes the foam roller works although it does bring your aches into sharp relief.
        Frome isnt really that hilly, its just Im not used to it. the course map.is on the frome marathon site, plot the course and see what you think. Going to try the rest of the course before entering to see what I might be letting myself in for ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. March 6, 2013 1:02 pm

    Ah that doesn’t look so bad, except for the sustained hill around 5-6k, though it doesn’t look too steep. Go for it – you can do it!

    • March 6, 2013 10:56 pm

      yup, that’s the one i did. All of Mondays run was on the 10k route, wanted to see how it felt. Now just need to try other other 4k. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • March 7, 2013 12:41 pm

        you’ll be whizzing through the whole 10k in no time! You have a good couple of months to train too. Get a parkrun in! My local kicks off at 9am, so could you go straight to BF’s from there?

      • March 7, 2013 7:45 pm

        Its more I tend to start at his. His house is bigger ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

