Skip to content

A hot shower really is paradise

March 11, 2013

Different kind of hot shower, but Captain Jack works for me 🙂

I have never been so glad for a hot shower, and that’s coming from a hardy UK diver used to semi-regular cold dips.

Today was my second lunchtime run with Lucy. I’d left her messages in the morning hoping that she’d get the subtext that I wasn’t especially keen to go out in the high winds and snow we’re having. However, as 12.30 approached I still hadn’t had confirmation that we were running or cancelling. I had just done a mental ‘whoop whoop’ thinking I was off the hook when she strolled into the office grinning in her sports kit. So, with lots of some minor grumbling I quickly changed and braced myself for the great outdoors.

Bracing was definitely required!  The wind threatened to tear our hats off and freeze our appendages.  It was -1C before you took into account the wind chill!  Needless to say we opted for the short run.  The outward journey was into the wind and we were both puffing like Ivor the Engine before long.  I was extremely glad to finish that first mile, have a little walk and turn my back to the wind and snow.

The run back was a bit of a blur in all honesty.  Even though we were helped by a tailwind I honestly can’t say that it felt any easier.  I must have been too tired to appreciate it, either that or I was distracted by gossiping with Lucy :-).

Having completed 1.8 miles we slunk back into our office by the back door.  The rush of hot air when opening the door onto cold hands and legs has to be one of the nicest things I have ever felt.  Only beaten by the hot shower minutes later.  Paradise!

So, first run of the week down, 3 more to go (possibly more).  I’m out tomorrow to do another b210k (probably around 4 miles).  Then on Thursday I’m two timing Lucy with Joe, who I am helping to run her 3rd run of week 1 couch25k. I can probably manage my third run of week 3 b210k on Friday/Saturday as well so I should be well on my way to meeting my ‘Marathon in March’ total.  I’m currently 52% of the way there with 13.2 miles complete so it’s looking pretty good :-).

how true

It’s not all good though.   I feel I should admit that I have failed Mad Abs March.  I’m totally stuck at 15 press-ups and can’t manage any more.  My current plan is to keep going at this level and increase the planks and crunches.  I figure some is better than none eh?  Bring on Kick Ass April 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2013 2:11 pm

    I. LOVE. THAT. DOG!! And I totally agree!

    • March 16, 2013 2:54 pm

      It is almost obscenely cute 🙂

      Personally prefer John Barrowman though – well, to look at 😉

      • March 16, 2013 10:58 pm

        hmmm…never heard of him.

        Honestly! Yeah, sorry…dumb American here.

        Did google him though (oh the beauty of the internet) and I’m with you. Quite easy on the eyes…

        I’m partial to Gerard Butler. Particularly his abs in 300!

      • March 17, 2013 9:34 pm

        Not a Torchwood fan then…… 🙂
        Normally I’m a Johnny Depp, Vin Diesel and Robert Downey Jnr fan. Sucker for nice eyes and good cheekbones me 🙂
        If you liked 300 you really should try the Spartacus series, muscles as far as the eye can see #wipesawaydrool

      • March 18, 2013 11:04 am

        Never heard of it… Torchwood, that is. Hmmm…

        Perhaps I should check it out. Dreadmill running distraction series perhaps?!! Hmmmm…

        Better drink more water.

      • March 18, 2013 8:14 pm

        The last series, Miracle Day, is partly set in the US. Its normally in Wales, so was a major departure from the previous series.
        Its a Dr Who spin off and the premise is what happens when all of a sudden all of the world become immortal. No one dies. Actually not such a good thing it turns out and there are some interesting moral issues.
        You’ll either love it or hate it, either would probably help take your mind off the running 🙂

      • March 19, 2013 10:24 am

        Definitely sounds interesting…my hubby is currently watching some Dr Who series I think… so he’ll like it for sure. When Grey’s Anatomy comes to an end, and everyone dies in some tragic accident at the hospital (oh, the irony)…I’ll check it out and let you know!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

