Skip to content

So, how did the run go? I’m glad you asked…….

March 12, 2013

Tomorrow I shall limp waltz into the office and at every possible opportunity casually drop into any possible conversation that I JUST RAN 4 MILES!

WOOHOOO!!!!!!! (sorry about excessive and improper use of punctuation)

I’m apologising in advance to my poor work colleagues who are going to get it in both ears for the next couple of days.  There may be a few ‘mwah ha ha’s and possibly some ‘woohoo’ ing, but please just smile and nod and I’ll soon get it out of my system.

Anyway, it may not have been fast, it may not have been glamorous, but I did it!  All told my 3×17 min runs with 1 min walks covered 4.08 miles.  My 5k time was bang on 40min, so I’m not going to be breaking any records, but I finished the whole run this time.  Just shows what I can do when there aren’t silly hills involved – that’ll be another day.

Only downside is my ‘inflatable leg’ is back so I may have overdone it.  My plan now is to sit back raise leg and watch Kill Bill Vol 1, its just getting to ‘that’ fight scene, you know the one with the crazy 88 :-).

Come on Uma, you can take ’em!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2013 9:43 pm

    LOVE this! Well done! 4.08 miles is brilliant! For the inflatable leg, are you raising your leg as soon as you get in? I noticed my ankles get really puffy sometimes, so as soon as I have stretched out, I lie on the bed with my feet up the wall (it’s really an excuse to lie down!! lol).

    Inflatable leg aside – WOO!! GO YOU!! Rocking the 4+ miles!

    • March 12, 2013 9:48 pm

      I was a bit slow on the elevating. I may have had a bath first in an attempt to thaw my extremities. Yesterdays ‘Barrowman’ style hot shower just wasn’t enough.
      Got one more of the week 3 runs and then its week 4, which is 3×18 mins #bitesnails. I may leave that until mid next week to give my body some recovery time though 🙂

      • March 12, 2013 10:10 pm

        Ah! You can do it!!! If I can run for 25 mins, you can definitely do your Week 4. Only 3.5km more and you’ll be hitting 10k!

  2. March 12, 2013 9:50 pm

    Fast and glamorous doesn’t count (in my book anyway) but miles do, well done

    • March 12, 2013 9:57 pm

      No chance of either of those here :-), so I’ll definitely take the miles.
      Thanks for the support 🙂

  3. March 13, 2013 1:15 am

    =) Great job!

  4. March 13, 2013 1:55 am

    Congrats! I’m also of the “distance is greater than speed” enthusiasts. And everyone says the speed will come eventually. 🙂

  5. March 16, 2013 12:05 pm

    Oh girl, you are a hoot! That is EXACTLY what I would’ve done too! Oh yes…gloat away chica…you deserve it!! 🙂 OH! And about glamor and running… yeah, doesn’t exist. But hey, I’m pretty sure we look AWESOME!!

    • March 16, 2013 6:07 pm

      I was utterly unbearable at work. There was serious gloatage, but not enough to get me banned from the tea kitty for boring people to death 🙂

      • March 16, 2013 11:04 pm

        Whew…I was worried. Happy to hear no one was hurt! 🙂

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

