Skip to content

So close and yet so far

March 18, 2013

I don’t believe it! Never mind about Nev, I think I’m turning into Victor :-/

Feeling alternately smug and mildly annoyed tonight.

I should have checked exactly how far I needed to do to complete my ‘Marathon in March’ challenge before I did my run!

Tonight was meant to be week3 day3 of Bridge210k and I was expecting to do just over 4 miles like I had with my last effort.  I started out slowly, in fact very slowly.  I could tell by the times at which I was passing familiar landmarks I was behind my last run and at the 17 min walk I had a sinking feeling that this was going to be a hard run whether I liked it or not.

Something strange happened in the second 17 min interval and all of a sudden it felt easier to move my legs and I had loads (well, relatively speaking loads) of energy.  The final 17 mins was even better as I talked myself into picking up the pace to try to make up the time I had lost.

I finished the podcast in exactly the same place as the last run.  What I had forgotten is that on the last run I had taken a slightly shorter route!  So, I’ve ended up doing a 4.3 mile run instead of 4.08.  RESULT!!!! 🙂

The walk home involved air punching and a few WooHoo’s.  Right up until the point I looked at Runkeeper to see how I was doing on meeting my 26.2 mile target.  I’ve now covered 25.8 miles (98%).  I’m 0.4 miles short!  If I’d paid more attention I’d have run another 4-5 mins and hit my target tonight.  In the words of Victor Meldrew ‘I don’t believe it’.

Luckily I have another 2 runs planned so will totally blast the target by the time I go on hols.  I have a 3 mile or 30 min ish run planned for weds and I’m doing week 1 day 3 of c25k with Joe on Thursday.  In the meantime I will take consolation from the fact that my weight is on the decline again 187.5lb (the half is very significant :-)) #victorydance

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2013 9:29 pm

    #victorydance with you! Well done on the run. Slight balls to not quite finishing your marathon today, but get you – you’re negtive splitting!! And you’ll finish your marathon on your next outing, so WOO!!! Plus high five on the downward scale number!

  2. March 19, 2013 1:38 am

    Wow! So much awesomeness in one post. Congrats on it all!

    • March 19, 2013 6:33 am

      Thanks for putting it back into perspective for me :-). More celebrating, less grumping called for.

  3. March 19, 2013 6:38 am

    Good on you!!

    (And love the One Foot in the Grave references – fantastic!)

  4. March 19, 2013 10:21 am

    Nice job, girl!! Woo-hoo!!! *\o/*

  5. March 20, 2013 8:33 pm

    Convert the dancing and air punching into miles and you’ll be on target ! Well done.

    • March 20, 2013 8:40 pm

      Nailed the target tonight, although had to stop after only 2k as my knee is pinging after stepping off a curb funny. So, now at 27.1 for the month and go on hols Friday

  6. March 20, 2013 8:43 pm

    Woo hoo well done you

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

