Skip to content

Running away to sunnier climes

March 21, 2013

Especially for Joe. Apparently running in the rain isn’t really that bad………. #whoamikidding 🙂

Goodbye rain, goodbye wind, goodbye snow.  Tomorrow I am sticking two fingers up at the weather gods and heading for warmer, sunnier climes.  I shall be squeezing onto a nasty, cramped package flight to the Red Sea in Egypt.  A small price to pay for a week of warm water, sun, fish and fabulous wrecks!

I feel I deserve it having spent some of today out in the wonderful British winter spring weather.  I said I would encourage my friend Joe in her attempts to conquer couch25k and so today we conquered Week 1 Day 3.  It was already raining as we stepped out the door for our session and at this point I discovered I had cunningly forgotten a coat!  But we didn’t let this dampen our spirits and off we went determined to get our 8x60s runs completed before the heavens really opened.

The three of us (Joe, me and Laura – of c25k podcast fame) were doing really well and had got to interval 4 when the wind picked up.  I was OK as I had 2 thin layers on and was not shivering much actually starting to get reasonably warm.  Poor Joe had sensibly opted for a waterproof coat, but the downside was that it caught the wind making it much harder to run.

However, we triumphed and completed all the intervals despite the headwind and ended up covering a little more distance than Day 1.  Joe even had the energy for a sprint finish (no Phoebe impression though), well done that girl!

So, with yesterday and todays runs I am finishing my ‘Marathon in March’ effort on a grand total of 28.48 miles!  Woohoo. I think a weeks diving holiday will be a suitable reward for the hard work.

See you all when I get back.  I’ll be on a boat for a week and I don’t think there is any internet reception so the blog will be quiet for a while.  Prepare for some fishy pics 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2013 6:52 am

    Enjoy your week in the sun and sea. Think of us back here in the uk running in our lovely spring weather. Looking forward to the pictures.

    • March 22, 2013 9:03 am

      having just got through a horrid check in and security check, I don’t think I should have been quite so smug 🙂
      Hope the weather turns for the better for you.
      Ttfn

  2. March 28, 2013 7:36 am

    Am

  3. March 28, 2013 7:38 am

    Another quote I’ve heard about the weather is that there’s no such thing as bad weather, just inappropriate clothing. I remain unconvinced. Hope your diving is/was spectacular.

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

