Skip to content

The wanderer returns – Red Sea round-up

March 31, 2013

I sit here in my living room shivering, even with the heating on! Having returned from temps in Hurghada of 30C plus, Gatwick was a chill 0C and I’m really feeling it. That said the holiday was divine and worth the temp shock coming back.  Rather than an epic, blow-by-blow (or dive by dive) report, I thought I’d jut do a quick round-up of the holiday to get me back into the swing of blogging again.

The BF and I spent the week on Blue Horizon doing the Northern Wreck and Reefs itinerary. We flew out on the Friday and landed at Hurghada airport to a mini sandstorm. I was praying that the rest of the holiday would not continue in the same fashion.

We quickly settled into the boat and got into the routine of diving, even if it did mean 5.30am starts to get the first dive started by 6.30!  Most days there was the option of 4 dives, but apart from the last full days diving I generally only did 3, mainly because I’m not that impressed with night diving.

The weather for the week was a bit variable as most of the time it was pretty windy, which meant that for the most part people weren’t sunbathing, but huddling under towels and fleeces.  Luckily though towards the end of the week the wind dropped and we were able to bask and warm up after each dive.  Between dives we pretty much ate and slept and filled in logbooks.  I’m proud to say I led the charge on the sleeping front :-).

So, what did we see.  Loads of fish! On most dives we saw Moray eels, some that were even free-swimming.  Unfortunately, I discovered I am rather attractive to them and several nearly caused me to pollute my wetsuit by swimming very close to me – you would too if  a 8 foot eel with large teeth was circling you!  We saw loads of small reef fish, crocodile flatheads, anemone fish (nemo’s), goatfish, pepperhead eels, lion fish, hermit crabs, dusky sweepers, octopus and glassfish.  On one memorable dive we even had a glimpse of dolphins, but they didn’t stick around for photos.

The wrecks were amazing and even with the high winds making mooring difficult we dived the Thistlegorm, Dunraven, and Carnatic.  All three were great wrecks and I enjoyed them for different reasons.  The Thistlegorm you could dive time and time again as there is so much to see.  you can swim through the holds and round the superstructure.  There are tanks, guns, trains, motorbikes, trucks and wellies onboard as well as massive amounts of wildlife.  It’s just a shame that the wreck is slowly disintegrating.  The Dunraven is tiny by comparison and much more open, with a couple of lovely swim-throughs.  My favourite by far was the Carnatic, it was a truly beautiful wreck with a very relaxed atmosphere.  All of the structure is exposed, meaning that even in the depths of the wreck the light penetrates.

Needless to say I took loads of photos and I’ve added them at the end of this post to give you an idea of the sorts of stuff I saw.

Coming home to falling temps and the weekend the clocks go forward has been traumatic, I’m just glad that I have Easter Monday to recover before going back to work.  Although, I wont be getting straight back into running, as my knee is not right.  Diving isn’t entirely stress free and my knees have really suffered, so I’m thinking a week off will do me good and hopefully stop the nasty stabby pains.  In the meantime I’ll focus on sorting out my diet as I have been eating like a hungry hungry hippo while away :-S.

It’s nice to be back, but I need another holiday to look forward to now 🙂

my fave pic of the holiday.  An octopus posing for the camera

my fave pic of the holiday. An octopus posing for the camera

Bow of the Carnatic

Bow of the Carnatic

view of the Carnatic

view of the Carnatic

large grumpy Moray Eel

large grumpy Moray Eel

shoal of fish on the Thistlegorm

shoal of fish on the Thistlegorm

gun on the rear deck of the thistlegorm

gun on the rear deck of the thistlegorm

truck in the hold of the Thistlegorm

truck in the hold of the Thistlegorm

squirrel fish on the barge

squirrel fish on the barge

crocodile flathead on the barge

crocodile flathead on the barge

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2013 8:21 pm

    Welcome back!

    • March 31, 2013 8:54 pm

      Thanks. I have missed keeping up with other peoples blogs while away.
      Its good to be home 🙂

  2. April 1, 2013 7:41 am

    Ah nice to bring back some of my dicing memories and warm water fun. Great pictures too.

  3. April 1, 2013 1:44 pm

    Gorgeous pics! So glad you had such a great time!!

    • April 1, 2013 6:37 pm

      thank you :-).

      it was totally fab and a much needed break. looking forward to getting back into the swing of things.

  4. April 4, 2013 12:19 pm

    Welcome back, and WOW! Your pictures are amazing – love the truck picture best. I would have been terrified by the eels – I am not good with fish at all, and would definitely have squid inked!! I remember coming back from Tenerife last year (25 degrees at Tenerife airport) to 3 degrees at Exeter. I nearly died of the cold – get the layers on, lots of tea in you, and you’ll be fine!

  5. April 7, 2013 9:59 pm

    Glad you had such a great time (minus the eel attraction) – the wrecks sound amazing. Love the photos!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

