Skip to content

I’ve come over all Laurence Llewelyn Bowen

April 29, 2013

I’m sure he would approve of my choices

I’ve been indulging my creative side over the last couple of weeks and really enjoying the process.  I guess I felt the need to reassert my identity and take control of my environment as my latest ‘project’ is to redecorate my bedroom.

Previously the room was very tranquil and calm in shades of cream and a light yellowy green.  This was the way I decorated the room when I moved in here over 9 years ago.  I figured that I’m well overdue a change.

What has surprised me is how much my taste has changed in the last couple of years.  Not so long ago I would have avoided bold colours and big patterns, now I find I’m drawn to them like a Magpie to shiny things.

So, after a weekend involving decorating I now have wallpaper like this on one wall

pattern that messes with your mind

I love it as as you can ‘see’ the pattern in so many ways.  It looks very pretty on the wall and makes quite a bold statement, but I haven’t taken pics yet as it isn’t finished.

I’ve also updated my bedding and bought these

 

The strange thing is that my bed feels warmer when I sleep under the red duvet.  Is that weird?  So, only curtains to go and my boudoir project will be complete.  I’m sure I can find something fabulous to finish the look, after all shopping is playing to my strengths.  I do love it when a plan comes together 🙂

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2013 9:15 pm

    ooh loving the red duvet set. I love decorating (well, not so much the process, but definitely the planning and finished stages). This week for the boudoir shoot?

    • April 29, 2013 9:18 pm

      I had booked for the 9th, but need to call and put it back a week. Having fun finding v naughty things to wear ;-).
      Nearly died laughing when I spoke to the booking lady the other day and she asked if I was considering nude or topless.

      • April 29, 2013 9:20 pm

        It’s a braver woman than I who goes for the full nude! I can imagine it’s good fun shopping for that. I’d be in fits of giggles though, I’m such a child sometimes.

      • April 29, 2013 9:23 pm

        oh hell yeah. apparently there is loads of time for costume changes (they even said to bring dresses for more glamorous shots), so I’m going to try everything and anything from innocent and demure to ‘mistress of pain’.
        Its great fun shopping and I never thought I’d find stuff that fits, but it does.
        Depending on how things turn out as to whether it makes it onto here 🙂

      • April 29, 2013 9:25 pm

        Now that is brave! Lol! If they’re good, please can you let me know, as I have a plan hatching 🙂

      • April 29, 2013 9:28 pm

        ooooh, intrigued. Is it plan so cunning you could put a tail on it and call it a fox?
        🙂

      • April 29, 2013 9:43 pm

        You could…. As cunning as a fox who’s just been appointed Professor of Cunning at Oxford University. I really must crack out Blackadder again.

  2. May 5, 2013 9:28 am

    Love it! I’m partial to a bit of red, so this is right up my alley.

    • May 5, 2013 9:24 pm

      definitely a boudoir rather than bedroom now :-).
      On your blog you said you’d been painting. What room(s) and what colours?

      • May 7, 2013 11:22 am

        Ooh a bedoir – nice!!

        Painting the outside (weather boards). Really regretting it now – so old, hasn’t been done in what looks like 10 years, and so much sanding and prep work needed. Going with a sandy / cream colour as it’s an old cottage, and judging by the slow progress we should be finished this time next year lol. Ahh the things we do. 🙂

      • May 10, 2013 5:40 am

        I bet you’re aching after all that. Take a well deserved break 🙂

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

