Skip to content

Gruber – the end of a love story

May 4, 2013

You know I said I was obeying the breakup rules………. well, I lied.

Today I broke one in spectacular fashion.  I’m referring to the ‘No shopping’ rule.  I bought a new car 🙂

Don’t get me wrong, I love my car.  I named him Gruber as an homage to Lt Gruber in Allo Allo, who was always talking about his little tank – lets face it this car is not exactly dainty is it and tank is a pretty apt description.  I’ve had some good times in Gruber and he’s been very reliable, but the finance package ends in June.

I love my car, but all good things must come to an end

I love my car, but all good things must come to an end

With this being a bank holiday weekend I thought I’d go and speak to the nice people at Citroen and see what deals they might have.  That was my downfall.  The nice man gave me a very good deal on a spanking new C3 Picasso and I was dead excited, right up until I realised that it meant I would be losing Gruber.

Some soul-searching later I signed on the dotted line and I’ll be picking up the new beastie on Friday.  But in the meantime I kind of feel like I’m cheating on Gruber.  I have every intention of abandoning him for a younger model (now with Bluetooth and LED lights).  Sounds horrid when you say it like that.

So, for the next week I’m going to be extra special nice to him, and then I’m bringing this young man home with me. 🙂

The younger model

Gruber forgive me.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2013 10:40 pm

    Oh girl, it is a good thing we don’t live in the same country!! I would’ve totally gone car shopping with you, sporting some Pom-pons and cheering all the way!! Love Gruber…but I have heard that “once you go black…”

    Just sayin’.

    • May 7, 2013 6:16 am

      That would have been fun 🙂
      My brother has suggested I call this one Herr Flick to keep up the Allo Allo theme.

  2. May 8, 2013 8:01 pm

    Can we have a Gruber photo please?

    • May 8, 2013 9:47 pm

      The car or the man? The car is the blue one above. I’ll find a pic of Lt Gruber of Allo Allo tomorrow and post it 🙂
      My brother has suggested that the new car should be named Herr Flick, continuing the theme 🙂

      • May 9, 2013 10:58 am

        Oh I must have been confused about your old car. Didn’t realise that was it! You needn’t be posting photos if your ex – I wouldn’t request that! That’s a bit nasty and insensitive!

      • May 10, 2013 5:39 am

        I think we’re just having a little misunderstanding is all :-).
        I hand Gruber back to the garage today and pick up the new car, so I’m pretty excited.
        I hadn’t thought you were being insensitive in the slightest. Just a case of crossed wires, no problem at all 🙂

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

