Skip to content

Juneathon Day 12 – chin up wonder

June 12, 2013

I look nothing like this, but can dream 🙂

It’s not often I’m ‘let out’ at work (there may be a good reason for that), but today I’ve been to a meeting in London. It’s a minimum journey of 90min train and 30 mins tube each way to get to the office, so it’s a pretty long day.

After this snooze inducing trek, I had a cunning plan to help wake me up before my 9pm Apprentice rant. Said Blackadder-esque plan was to try out my gym program for the first time.

Having warmed up I optimistically headed straight for my most challenging bit of kit.  the chin up machine.  I figure that if I’m going to give it a good crack I need to do it first (my puny biceps need all the help they can get).  I’m proud to report I rocked my chin-ups tonight! I may still have only done 9, but this time I didn’t need assistance to get off the machine because my arms wouldn’t function :-).  I’m thinking on Friday or Saturday I’ll have a go at doing 10 and see how I go, although that may be ambitious as I have another Pilates torture session tomorrow night.

The rest of the session was a joy after meeting the initial challenge and I’m feeling pretty perky now, unlike when I walked into the gym. So, having had my Slimming World lasagne for dinner I’m now raring to rant at the muppets on the Apprentice.

Juneathon totals;

  • Scuba diving – 357 mins
  • Pilates – 120 mins
  • Gym – 90 mins
  • Body Jam – 80 mins
  • Walking – 2 miles
10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2013 5:02 am

    Haha!That`s a great looking dream! Good going on chin ups. I never could do them.

    • June 13, 2013 6:12 am

      The only reason I can is because the machine is doing half of it for me 🙂

  2. June 13, 2013 11:28 am

    Well done, Nev!! Hate chin ups. Love the machine though!! 😉

  3. June 13, 2013 2:41 pm

    Cunning plans are always the best!

  4. June 14, 2013 8:18 am

    9 chin ups – impressed! We have an “iron gym” at home – one of those things you hang over the door frame. Had it about 2 years, but still can’t do a single one! Hubby says I look like a pony as I jump up….I can hang for longer, but can’t pull myself up 😦

    • June 14, 2013 4:54 pm

      Ash, note these are ‘assissted’ chin Ups. I haven’t dated try one under my own stem yet :-). I figure I’ll start slowly and work up to it
      Good work on the hanging 🙂

  5. June 16, 2013 4:44 am

    Nice work! I know it’s assisted, but 9 still sounds great. Trust me – I have never done a chin up in my life (if you don’t count the monkey bars back at school) therefore know my stuff. 😉

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

