Skip to content

Where did the last year go?

October 19, 2014

Hi there folks,

I cant believe its been over a year since my last post! Since then the road has been lumpy to say the least but things are much better than they were.  This post is a sort of ‘catch me up’ so that I can draw a line under things and start again.  so excuse me if things are brief, but theres a fair bit of ground to cover.

Depression. I’m massively relieved to say it wasn’t.  I was in a very low place, was stupidly pressured at work and cracked under it.  What I really had and still do was anxiety.  This has left fingerprints all over my life, I’m now much more cautious than I was, quick tempered and easily spooked.  Depending on my mood, it can be really tough not to listen to the voice that says ‘you’re rubbish and you cant do it’.

Work.  I’m actually now doing the job that drove me bonkers full time.  ‘But that’s mad’ I hear you say! Yes, it is and I have regular spats of ‘I don’t know what I’m doing’,  but now there’s a team in place to share the load and generate ideas. So, despite being a scientist in the civil service I’m now a full time social community manager, which ironically involves regular blogging!

Love life.  After what felt like ages on dating sites I was contacted by a chap, who I immediately turned down on the grounds he lived too far away (Holland) and was a little bit older than me (16 years). Luckily, he was persistent and didn’t take no for an answer.  We’ve been seeing each other for 10 months now, mainly due to the wonders of Skype. Not being together much is a challenge, but it makes the time I do have with the wonderful Mr B all the more precious.

Family.  Both my parents and my brother have bought new houses, so everything is change on that front.  My folks have taken to retirement like ducks to water and now have two beautiful cocker spaniels – I think they are in lieu of grandchildren.

Fitness.  I’ve spent the last year doing very little in the way of exercise as I have not felt up to it.  Have had a couple of abortive attempts at restarting c25k and I need to get back on the horse.  I’ve put back on about half the weight I lost, so I feel pretty podgy :-/. There are various hair brained schemes in the offing so I’ll pick them up in the course of my normal blogs

Doesn’t sound like a lot when I put it like that, but theres more than enough drama to keep me busy I can assure you :-).  That’s enough catching up, next blogs will be business as usual 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2014 11:58 am

    Nev!!! Welcome back!!!!! I have missed you! I am SO glad to hear that you’re in a better place than when we last saw you – and woo to the new man! Getting back into the running thing is a beast, I won’t lie, but it gets better (as you know) – it’s just a case of getting your head back into it. So pleased to “see” you again!

    • October 24, 2014 10:59 pm

      Really good to hear from you too :-).
      Planning on taking it slowly with blogging so may be a bit intermittent, but will try to drop by and catch up with what everyone is doing over time.
      Hope all is well with you 🙂

Leave a Reply

It Ain't Fast and It Ain't Pretty...

Blogging my attempt at Juneathon

Slow and steady

Moving slowly through the UK countryside

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

hopingtogetfromfattoslim

This isn't really anything for people to get excited about, it is more about my own personal journey and so I can see what I am doing.

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Paul Annett

Independent digital design lead. Formerly at Twitter, GOV.UK, and Clearleft.

Races, Reps, and Ramblings

Thoughts and experiences on a personal road to fitness

A Regular Cup of Joe

A unique blend of humor, inspiration, and all the other flavors in the cupboard

how to make life better

a Slimming World blog

Kick Some Serious Ass

hopefully sharing my weightloss journey with you

Laura's Adventures After 50!

My journey of growth and discovery as I reach my 50th birthday and journey on in great anticipation of a joyous future!

The Happy Project

Discovering what makes you happy

Kinetic Kate

Energy Through Motion

On a Jam Hunt

Punching today in the face!

Life and a Slice

Because life is about variety

fit4flt's Blog

4 out of 5 pilots recommend this WordPress.com site

shazruns

Running and other happenings

